Sixty shades of green

I am not quite sure where I sit on the spectrum of ‘green-ness’, but I suspect it’s closer to toxic swamp than pristine rainforest.

While I have always acknowledged the need to reduce, re-use and recycle, my efforts have been pretty pedestrian. When the going has gotten tough, it has been easier to ‘buy it new or ‘throw it out’, rather than ‘deal with it’ responsibly.

So, why the sudden crisis of conscience?

There is no short answer to this question. The change of heart has been a long time coming.  I have been inspired by so many great ideas, blogs, individuals, progressive companies, provoking reads, podcasts and documentaries that it feels almost irresponsible to do nothing. As I can not ‘unsee’ what I’ve seen, I can no longer claim ignorance.

The purpose of this blog is to document my journey into greener territory, one little habit at a time. The successes, the failures and everything in-between.  I am hoping that, at the very least, I can progress along the spectrum into greener territory!

Vert I go! Gradually…

Feel free to join me!

2 thoughts on “Sixty shades of green

  1. I feel like I’m in the same boat! I’ve seen and heard too much to do nothing, but also feel overwhelmed with the amount of plastic and waste that we create. We’re also so used to a convenience culture that creating less waste now takes more effort! I’m looking forward to following your journey and hopefully adopting some of your tips!

    Like

    1. Thanks Lucy! Yes, I totally agree! It’s difficult to break old habits in favour of new ones, particularly if they require more effort! It’s encouraging to see that there are emerging businesses out there who recognise this dilemma, and are trying to meet our need for ‘greener convenience’. Where there is a will, there’s a way! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

