A terracotta hamper

My journey into greener territory has got me thinking about the legacy of the gifts I give. In the past, I was focussed on the moment that the gift was opened. Not much thought was given to the fate of that gift thereafter. Now however, with a more mindful desire to keep things out of landfill, I have devised a little checklist to inform my gift choices, namely:

  • Can you eat it? I’m a big fan of the gourmet consumable gift!! πŸ˜‰

If not:

  • Is it truly useful – does it have practical value beyond its appearance?
  • Is it well made and designed to last?
  • Can it / parts of it be re-used, re-purposed or recycled, when it has outlived its initial purpose?
  • Can I avoid plastic?

It so happened that a special birthday was on the horizon. What better way to trial my little checklist?

After careful consideration, I decided on a homemade hamper. As the recipient loves his cheeses, I made a delicious beetroot relish using a fabulous recipe I found at Kyrstie’s A Fresh Legacy. Β I then made some rosemary, cheese and spelt crackers, using some rosemary from my garden, and added them to a selection of gourmet cheeses.

 

I have decided that terracotta pots make brilliant hamper containers. They come in a variety of shapes and sizes, are a natural product, look great and are economical too. Terracotta containers have the added bonus of acting like a mini cooler bag. After refrigeration, the terracotta pot was brilliant at keeping the cheeses cool on the long journey to the birthday boy, without the need for an esky. Excellent!

Now to get a little more creative with the presentation…

Green I go. Gradually…

2 thoughts on “A terracotta hamper

  1. You know how much I despise ‘stuff’, so I loved this post! That checklist is a brilliant idea. I wish more people thought that way before buying gifts, especially for children and especially at Christmas!
    So much time, thought and love went into that gift. Even home made crackers! You are amazing!

    Like

    1. Aaaww! Thank you for your kindness, Lucy! It’s definitely easier to exercise these kinds of ideas with adults! Kids are harder! πŸ™‚ Although, as they get older, we are finding that ‘experience’ type gifts have appeal! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

